top of page
  • Sophie Devon

The New Project

Updated: Feb 24, 2022

My Land Rover journey started with learning to drive in my family’s Td5 Discovery. Once I had passed my driving test, I got my first Land Rover, a Defender 110 300Tdi now affectionately named Gareth. After a few years of ownership, I started to think about possibly getting a second Land Rover. I have always adored 200tdi Discoverys and also fancied having a short-wheelbased Land Rover to go alongside the 110. I started thinking more along the lines of a Series rather than a 90, since I already have the 110 I thought it would be good to have an example of a leaf sprung Land Rover. It was just food for thought, imagining how I’d like a blue and cream Series III 88’’ with a spare wheel on the bonnet. Preferably petrol as it will create a nice change from the diesels in my life.

Not even 48 hours after voicing my newfound love for a little blue Series, a family friend sent a message containing a mystery ‘old Land Rover’ that had been stood up a few years. They said it was for sale in need of some TLC and sent through some pictures. Much to my excitement it was exactly what I was I was after, a blue and cream Series III 88’’ 2.25 petrol, it even already had the spare wheel mounted to the bonnet.

I went to look at the Series, did the usual checks on the structural, cosmetic and mechanical components, it was clear it needed a great deal of work! I also was unable to drive it since the clutch fluid had run completely dry. I had managed to push my fingers through one of the chassis rails and there was further advanced corrosion to the doors, footwells and seat boxes. It had a fully certificated LPG conversion however unfortunately the owner said he had only run it on that and it in fact would not run on petrol. There were some good points I had noted however, such as a set of both Fairey freewheeling hubs and overdrive. Since the vehicle needed a full rebuild including a new chassis, I was able to negotiate a fair price.


Just a few days from the initial message about a Land Rover going for sale, the car arrived via trailer and was parked on my driveway – I was ecstatic!



My first job was to give the Land Rover a good clean, which I did with a jet wash, some TFR, a brush and a lot of elbow grease. With a clean undercarriage, I started to hammer away and really see what condition the chassis was in. The right side had been parked in the bush so that had taken a beating from Mother Nature. The outriggers were failing, and the main rails had huge holes in all over, it was clear it could never be reasonably repaired so would have to be replaced. I decided to give it a very quick going over with a wire brush and some Jenolite – just so it didn’t get any worse in the time I would have to move it up and down my drive to strip parts and work on other bits.


Though the engine would run on LPG, I wanted to get it running properly on petrol (since you should start with that anyway). I would then be able to properly assess the running condition of the engine. The oil was also very milky so it was possible either there was a coolant issue, or it could just be due to how long the vehicle had stood. After a full service and some fresh petrol, I was able to bleed though the lines and the old two-and-a-quarter fired into life. It was very out of tune but the fact it was now running on petrol with all cylinders firing was a great start. After running it a few times up to temperature and a little fettling there was no further evidence of engine oil contamination, so this was another big plus – no worrying smoke too!

Since the engine was now running, I decide it would be good to see if I could get it to move. I therefore went on to check/change the rest of the transmission oils and inspected for damage and general condition. All gear and final drive oils were filthy but no big metal chunks is always promising. After bleeding the clutch, I then drove the Land Rover under its own steam for the first time, it started with a jolt but it was moving.

I am now at the stage where I am stripping and rebuilding components ready for installation onto a new galvanised chassis. I have started with the rear axle, this axel by feel of the wheels and prop-shaft seemed very tired. Most likely due to it having free-wheeling hubs and being driven in rear wheel only most of the time. It also needed some rust treatment. We jacked the rear of the vehicle up and with the rear crossmember supported on blocks, removed the axel. The axel is now stripped with final drive unit removed and is currently being rust treated.


I plan on doing most of the work myself at home on my driveway, with help from friends and family. I want to get this vehicle on the road as soon as possible though the restoration is limited by the funds and facilities I have available. I am happy with the progress I have made so far however, and I am already besotted with my little series. We have a family tradition of naming all our Land Rovers with a name beginning with ‘G’. As such the Series III has now been christened Gerald - hopefully soon to be up and running alongside Gareth the 110 and Gregory the Discovery.



 


 

Also available to read in the August 2020 issue of Land Rover Owner Magazine.

0 comments
bottom of page